For All the Times

 

 

 

For all the times I pretended I didn’t feel the steel blade pushed into my skin

For all the times my heart was warmed into peaceful sleep only to waken to shivers of stolen promises

For all the times I was expected to feel nothing To accept less than

For all the times I was expected to excuse, to cover up, to pretend something was something that it really wasn’t

For all the times my tears were trapped by a self-imposed concrete dam so that the one who let me down didn’t see … I was … affected

 

Leave a Reply

