I used to

Used to catch every drop of pain

poison burning away my skin

and forced ingestion corroded my insides

Vomit waterfalls No pain medication, just bandages and antibiotics

to remove the deadly infection that threatened to kill the light

I remember when the evolution came

The day the poison rolled over my resistant surface

The day my eyes went glassy smooth

When my biceps flexed and pushed the poison away

I refused submission to receiving the drops of bitter toxins

Don’t feel pain the same no more

My nerve endings don’t register the messages like they

used to

Leave a Reply

