To all FUTURE posters of my quotes I have this to say

Copy of Adams (5)

Don’t lie about what I have or have not said.

No matter how impressive the quotes may be, if they were not my words,

don’t credit them to me.

I stand by my word. It is something that formed inside of me, and something I CHOSE to release.

Allow me to later rest in true peace

BY ONLY crediting MY words to me.

I say this because of the RAMPANT MISquoting of MANY notable writers and thinkers of the past and present.

Sometimes the quotes are attached to the person in order to give CREDIBILITY to the quote,

and other times it’s the quote that is somehow boosting the reputation of the person.

For example, there is a wonderful quote that says:

Our culture has accepted two huge lies. The first is that if you disagree with someone’s lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love someone means you agree with everything they believe or do. Both are nonsense. You don’t have to compromise convictions to be compassionate.

Wonderful. True quote. YET, this quote has been credited it to The Duck Dynasty patriarch and to Dave Chappelle

Neither of these men said or wrote this.

This is a quote from RICK WARREN, a pastor of true altruistic fame.

The quote is given to the other two men by those who support them, and want to sway people to feeling the same

respect and admiration. YET, how disrespectful to ALL 3 men is this?

On the other end of the spectrum are the many quotes attached to someone like Einstein or Kennedy or Martin Luther King or Harriet Beecher Stowe. The quotes are probably amazing insights that some person alive today said, but they didn’t think any one would pay attention to their words UNLESS they claimed it belonged to someone of great reputation.

While this form of MISquoting is for the purposes of sharing info and inspiration, it’s still a disrespect to the person who wrote it and the person who is being wrongly credited with the information.

BE HONEST and say that YOU were the person who wrote it OR just say “Unknown” if you’re unsure of who said it.

There’s no shame in saying “Unknown” It’s RESPECTABLE actually.

So to ALL people in the future who may want to do this with any quotes of mine, I ask that you respectfully credit my words to me, and please NEVER credit me with saying something that I did not. If these are your words, LET THE WORLD KNOW of your brilliance. Don’t connect your thoughts to Einstein or MLK. BE PROUD of you, or at least say “Unknown” or “Anonymous” It’s better to say you don’t know, than it is to LIE.

One thought on “To all FUTURE posters of my quotes I have this to say

Leave a Reply

