I asked you to pay attention

IMG_20141006_012842

My friend

I asked you to pay attention

but I wondered if you could

you worrying bout love lost and how you heart was shook

you crying over bills in mountains on table and in the trash

and another who must tip toe all day as if he walked on glass

all afraid of breaking, so you must guard your back

all the while I ask you to pay attention

to the enemy we all share

My neighbor

I asked you to pay attention

but I wondered if you could

you drowning in fear of others with different holy books

fearing darker skin though motives be identical to yours

the news box tells you they mean you harm

so harm them first and let their cries be solace to you

that all’s the same and nothing’s changed

and really that’s just fine with you

so long as the news box says you’re safe

so long as they’re screaming

if the suffering should cease, perhaps it means your way of life is ending

so I asked you to pay attention

neighbor and friend

still not sure that you would

since your thoughts linger on these shadows of distraction

these misshapen forms

they betray and lie to your eyes

but you trust them more than I

the one who cries for your ignorance, neighbor

the one who cries for your misguidance, friend

I asked you to pay attention

because your suffering may be different

while THE CAUSE IS ALL THE SAME

the puppet master is still laughing

to him, it’s all a game

and we are all the pawns within

I asked you to pay attention and HE has his eyes on me

cause if I get too loud

he sees his end will soon come to be

so I whisper to your heart

I shine a candle for your soul

I ask you to pay attention

the oppressive wall is only tissue paper

though it looks like stone

light a fire of compassion

and watch the wizard fall

Leave a Reply

