I Will Teach My Children

one human race

I will raise my children to see reality

but to think beyond it

to recognize the lies as defeatable

inside their example

I will raise my children to see color

as a beautiful decoration and

to see the glow of the soul

as the truth of who lives inside that skin

I will raise my children to alter definitions

that obstacles are strength training for their resolve

complaints and discouraging remarks

are buzzes from bugs to be chased away

that dreams are not just thoughts dancing in our minds

they are the reality we will soon create

2 thoughts on “I Will Teach My Children

Leave a Reply

