Sorrow’s Drain

Sorrow's Drain

(the poem below is the 1st poem I wrote. I was 12 years old and crying out of fear that my father would be killed during the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait. Alhomdullah, he was kept safe, but when I wrote this, I was afraid)

Day by day I take the pain
Of evermore a sorrow’s drain
I think of things long forgotten
I think of still what can happen
I think of summer and winter and fall
And hope perhaps today you might call
But day by day this dream dies down
And my hopeful smile turns to a frown
Day by day I take the pain
Of evermore a sorrow’s drain

Leave a Reply

