To My Grandmother

Grandmother

I still feel so small standing next to you

fragile like that little 3 year old girl I once was

holding onto your smile for inspiration…

that smile like a light in the darkness

calling to me and reminding me

I can be anything… and because of you that little girl

never knew limitations… spreading my wings for the first time

I took flight and the air of your laughter raised me to the highest heights

it was you who reminded me I am only able to accomplish what I imagine

and that imagination has no limits… a grandmother’s gift…

it is because of you that so many exist.. have found life inside your arms

arms that chased away fear… and arms washed in rivers of tears…

but those same arms wiped them all away…

and found more sunshine inside one of our hugs

than the sun gives to the earth in a day…

Your ears caught more wishes and dreams

than a wishing well on the busiest streets…

and those ears formed words to say again “you can be anything”

because we are only able to achieve what we imagine

and imagination knows no limits…

no limits… like there is no limit to the love inside your arms

flowing like a waterfall from your heart…

you never knew distance, never knew resistance

your heart a home with a door always open…

for any who need a kind word from the giver of light…

the light that was born inside your smile…

yes I do still feel small, like a 3 year old girl…

gazing out at you because all here owe the world

to you…

and in this life we live, we honor you in remembering

we are only able to achieve what we imagine

and imagination knows no limits…

no limits… just like your love and our love returned to you.

Leave a Reply

